Counselor's Corner

REGISTRATION

Our Registration Cycle began February 28th and will continue through April 17th.  During this time each Freshman, Sophomore and Junior student has the opportunity to meet with their counselor for their annual “Academic Review” where their transcripts and grad status is reviewed and the course selections students input online are checked for accuracy.  Counselors also review their college/career plans and may make some recommendations for classes or programs at Lincoln that support those plans. Your child will leave their registration appointment with a red information sheet.  Please review this sheet with your child.


The Master Schedule will be created based on student’s requests.  Although we would love to give every student their first-choice requests, sometimes students get their second choice.  This is why we ask students to choose alternates for elective classes. In some cases, there will be a scheduling conflict because two requested classes meet the same period and their alternate choice will not work.  If this should happen to your student, every effort will be made in the summer to contact you so that you and your child can decide which class to keep.


Because counselors are registering almost 3,000 students, and almost every period a class of students comes to the counseling office to register, there is less time to respond to email and phone messages.  Counselors will try to respond in a timely fashion, but this does take longer during registration.


SUMMER SCHOOL

Students who need to retake classes will receive Summer School forms during Registration.  It is important that students return forms to the Student Service Center promptly. Once classes fill for summer, students will not be added.


The grading period for 4th quarter progress will end April 26th.  Report cards will be mailed about a week later. At that point, students with D/F grades need to see their Counselor to discuss Summer School options and turn in forms ASAP.  (If they end up passing the course they can drop the Summer class, but they should not wait until the end of May to sign up for Summer School as courses will be full.)


Meet Your Counselor

Visit us on the LHS website www.lincolnhigh.org.  Go to the “Staff Directory” tab and you will find us under “Counseling”.  There you will find helpful information about our program and various resources. Visit the “Meet Your Counselor” section where you can learn more about your counselor.  Students are welcome to drop-in to see counselors at lunch or after school.  (No appointment is necessary if you don’t have class.) 

 A-BR  David Bailey dbailey@lusd.net 953-8933
 BU-ED Carrie Hake chake@lusd.net 953-8933
 EE-HARR Kelly Jensen kjensen@lusd.net 953-8932
 HARS-LE Lanish Redic lredic@lusd.net 953-8932
 LEA-M Annette Knowles  aknowles@lusd.net 953-8934
 N-RI Lisa Barbieri lbarbieri@lusd.net 953-8934
 RJ-TAL Kory Kambara kkambara@lusd.net 953-8935
 TAM-Z Karen Vallery kvallery@lusd.net 953-8935


PLEASE SIGN UP FOR REMINDERS FROM THE COUNSELORS

“Counselor Connection Remind 101”.  (See below)  Parents are welcome to sign up as well!

      Seniors – LHSGRAD19 
By phone – Enter 81010 and text this message - @kk2dg7
By computerLink – www.remind.com/join/kk2dg7

     Juniors - LHSGRAD20 
By phone – Enter 81010 and text this message - @a7697f7
By computer - Link – www.remind.com/join/a7697f7

     Sophomores - LHSGRAD21 
By phone – Enter 81010 and text this message - @lhsgrad21
By computer - Link - www.remind.com/join/lhsgrad21

     Freshman -  LHSGRAD22 
By phone – Enter 81010 and text this message - @lhsgrad22
By computer - Link - www.remind.com/join/lhsgrad22  

     8th Graders – LHSGRAD23 
By phone – Enter 81010 and text this message - @lhsgrad22
By computer - Link – www.remind.com/join/lhsgrad23 



Lincoln High School Counselors, with the support of Hospice, offer Grief Support Groups to students who have experienced the loss of a loved one.  If you are concerned about how your child is dealing with the loss of someone, or would like to have him/her participate in a Grief Support Group, email or call their counselor and their name will be added to the list for the next group.