Counselor's Corner

REGISTRATION

Our Registration Cycle began March 1st and will continue through May 4th.  Each Freshman, Sophomore and Junior student will have the opportunity to meet with a counselor for their annual “Academic Review” where their transcripts are reviewed and requested courses are checked and entered in Aeries.  Counselors also ask students about their career plans and may make some recommendations for classes or programs at Lincoln that support those career plans.  Your child will leave their registration appointment with a red information sheet.  Please review this sheet with your child.

The Master Schedule will be created based on student’s requests.  Although we would love to give every student their first-choice requests, sometimes students get their second choice.  This is why we ask students to choose alternates for elective classes.  In some cases, there will be a scheduling conflict because two requested classes meet the same period and their alternate choice will not work.  If this should happen to your student, every effort will be made in the summer to contact you so that you and your child can decide which class to keep. 

Because counselors are registering almost 3,000 students, and almost every period a class of students comes to the counseling office to register, there is less time to respond to email and phone messages.  Counselors will try to respond in a timely fashion, but this does take longer during registration. 

SUMMER SCHOOL

Students who have failed classes and need to make up credits, will receive Summer School forms from their counselor during their registration appointment.  It is important that parents fill out the form and the student return it to the Student Service Center promptly.  Once classes fill for summer, students will not be added.

4th quarter progress grading period ends April 27th.  Parents will receive report cards about a week later.  If students have any failing grades in May they need to see their Counselor for a Summer School application and turn it in ASAP.  (If they end up passing the course, they can drop the Summer class, so they should not wait until June to sign up for Summer School.)

 



Meet Your Counselor

Please see the Counselor breakdown below.  Visit us on the LHS website www.lincolnhigh.org.  Go to the “Staff Directory” tab and you will find us under “Counseling”.  There you will find a lot of helpful information about our program and various resources. Visit the “Meet Your Counselor” section where you can learn more about your counselor.  Also remember that students are welcome to drop in to see us at lunch or after school.  (No appointment is necessary if you don’t have class.)  


 A-BR  David Bailey dbailey@lusd.net 953-8933
 BU-ED Carrie Hake chake@lusd.net 953-8933
 EE-HARR Kelly Jensen kjensen@lusd.net 953-8932
 HARS-LE Lanish Redic lredic@lusd.net 953-8932
 LEA-M Annette Knowles  aknowles@lusd.net 953-8934
 N-RI Lisa Barbieri lbarbieri@lusd.net 953-8934
 RJ-TAL Teresa Garcia tgarcia@lusd.net 953-8935
 TAM-Z Karen Vallery kvallery@lusd.net 953-8935
 Academic Success Center  Kory Kambara  kkambara@lusd.net 953-8989


Lincoln High School Counselors, with the support of Hospice, offer Grief Support Groups to students who have experienced the loss of a loved one.  If you are concerned about how your child is dealing with the loss of someone, or would like to have him/her participate in a Grief Support Group, email or call their counselor and their name will be added to the list for the next group.